Mildly Tourettic


I have a problem.  I’m sometimes driven to exclaim things that may not be appropriate.  If my exclamation is appropriate, the volume offsets any potential benefit.  If pressed, I’m sure I could control myself, but the articulation of some words, coupled with considerable volume, is impossible to pass up.

My most recent bout revolved around the term “cohort.”  During a staff meeting, several colleagues discussed groups of students, primarily grouped by major.  Some institutions refer to these groups as Learning Communities.   The discussion went on for some time, too long for me. When recapping the minutes, our note-taker stumbled when describing the student groups.  I was happy to help, “COHORT!”

A colleague to my left quickly confiscated my coffee mug.

Sometimes, when hearing a language other than English, I whip up a few nonsensical phrases, tossing them off as passable, cogent dialogue.  Like I said, I have a problem.

This entry was posted in Humans, a Peculiar Species and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mildly Tourettic

  1. Lafemmeroar says:

    You have the gift for nonsensical gab 🙂

  2. Maxim says:

    When I was young I used to pretend I spoke Chinese. It sounded something like this: “ching chong chang chin”. As an adult I realize that was totally inappropriate…but still funny.

Leave a Reply

